home about us case studies careers sitemap

CreativeSuit
Get your free Health Check on your existing website

The Friendly Manchester web design AgencyThe Friendly Manchester web design Agency

 

  • portfolio
  • contact us
  • the 3 m's
  • blog

Recently Written

  • Things I have come across this week
  • Google Analytics now Supersonic
  • Getting links from the BBC website.
  • Adventures with the iphone 3G
  • Search Volume Data, How rather splendid
  • So now you are indexing Flash then?
  • Stupid Burglar returns to the scene to get his Mobile back
  • Honda Broadcast an Advert = LIVE
  • Alton Towers bans PDA’s
  • Google Sites, Get Stuck in

Categories

  • Advertising
  • adwords
  • Analytics
  • Apple
  • arty
  • ask.com
  • Bebo
  • broadband
  • cars
  • Cocktails
  • domains
  • email
  • food
  • gadgets
  • Google
  • humour
  • iphone
  • ipod
  • ISP
  • Joomla
  • Lego
  • link building
  • Mac
  • Manchester
  • MSN
  • Music
  • news
  • Night out
  • office
  • Random
  • Seo
  • snow
  • Social Bookmarking
  • twitter
  • Uncategorized
  • web 2.0
  • web design
  • web shopping
  • weekly links
  • Wikipedia
  • Xbox360
  • Yahoo
  • youtube

Archives

  • November 2008
  • July 2008
  • June 2008
  • May 2008
  • April 2008
  • March 2008
  • February 2008
  • January 2008
  • December 2007
  • November 2007
  • October 2007
  • September 2007
  • August 2007
  • July 2007
  • June 2007
  • May 2007
  • April 2007
  • March 2007
  • February 2007

Blogroll

  • 2 Advanced
  • Air Conditioning Manchester
  • Altrincham Couriers
  • Annie Mac
  • Aspect Developments
  • Avatar Commercial Financing
  • Building Repairs in Greater Manchester
  • Corporate Clothing
  • Safety Equipment
  • Search Engine Land
  • TV Reception Survey
  • Web design Manchester

Admin

  • Register
  • Log in
  • Wordpress
  • XHTML

Search

Jul

17

Domain name Pirates are targeting UK firms.

Filed Under domains |

Beware beware… They are trying to get you to buy domains that you don’t need or want!

Typically, the scam, which is still under investigation, starts with calls to domain owners warning them that a variant of the domain they own has been bought by a third party. Prospective marks are invited to outbid these third parties by placing higher bids with domain registration entities that falsely claim to be partners with Nominet, the UK registrar.

Mullard Space Science Laboratory, part of University College London, has been targeted by variants of the scam twice by different entities (both of whom made false claims) over recent weeks. “A heads-up story about the activity might be in order,” writes Alan Brown, our source in the lab. Brown said some of his peers had been subjected to similar approaches. He has contacted Nominet in the hopes that it might be persuaded to compile information on the scams for a possible trading standards or OFT (Office of Fair Trading) investigation.

Tim Dalby, of Nominet’s legal team, told El Reg it was looking into the latest example of possible fraud reported by Brown earlier this month to see “if there is anything further that we can do”.

“We get periodic complaints about various business practices relating to domain names sales, including the pressure selling of domain name registrations,” he said. “We are genuinely concerned with such cases and where possible we take action.”

A page in Nominet’s website details various sharp practices around domain name sales and the steps concerned punters can take if they become recipients of unwanted, and possibly fraudulent, approaches.

Fraud targeting domain name holders are far from new. In February 2001, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) went to court to stop a scam that attempted to trick potential marks into registering variations of their existing domain names. At least 27,000 website owners were victims of that scam, the US consumer watchdog estimated.

More recently, jailed UK spammer Peter Francis-Macrae (AKA Weaselboy) used data from Nominet’s Whois database to mount a bogus domain re-registration scam. ®

Via The register….


Comments

Name (required)

Email (required)

Website

Speak your mind

Comments are closed.


home about us contact us portfolio case studies the 3 m's blog click me careers sitemap

© Copyright 2008 . creativesuit
Creativesuit Ltd: Registered in England No. 5843077 Registered Office: Hale Carr Lodge, Grove Lane, Hale, Altricham, Nr Manchester, Cheshire, WA15 8LS